It’s a black and white thing

IMG_0076_DxO B_W

Recently, I’ve been liking the black and white monochrome trend. It’s such a classic timeless look which can be styled either casually or formally by pairing with different variations, such as patterns, prints, accents or by layering. However, remember not to pair two very strong and different prints together as it may be visually confusing. My suggestion is to pick either a bold print or a solid pattern as a ‘statement’ for the entire look, and then keep the rest simple and minimal.  For my outfit, I wanted to create a casual and edgy look, so I styled it with a black and white graphic t-shirt (which I also wore on my last post ) and kept the rest of the outfit simple with a pair of white skinny jeans and a pair of black leather look slip on plimsolls.

bwcollage2

bwcollage3

I wanted to illustrate the monochrome theme by producing a stripped back shoot optimising a grey background along with black and white tones to create a fresh and simple feel to the images. I went to visit my cousin for a few days in Yilan (a city here in Taiwan), who not only managed to source a Canon DSLR, but also provided the ‘studio’ in the form of the third floor of his house – which has grey bare walls due to not yet being decorated. I am really happy with how the photos came out as it portrayed exactly what I wanted to show.

IMG_0089_DxO

The ‘studio’ – undecorated floor of the house

IMG_0151_DxO

Using a light bulb for the ‘studio’ light

IMG_0173_DxO

IMG_0356_DxO

What I wore:

Top: Zara t-shirt with faux leather and mesh detail.
Jeans: ASOS white denim skinny jeans.
Shoes: ASOS Black leather look slip on plimsolls.
Glasses: Tommy Hilfiger prescription glasses.

…..

Credits:
Photos: Wade C
Words: Wendell C
Word and photo edits: Benjamin H

Thanks for reading and please feel free to leave a comment!

Wendellism x

7 comments

Leave a Reply

